Love Languages


love languageHave you ever thought about love languages? There are 5 of them. Do you know your love language? If you are unsure what I am talking about, the following is a quick synopsis of each love language:

Words of Affirmation

This is expressing affection through the spoken word, praise, or appreciation. When this is someone’s primary love language, they enjoy kind words and encouragement. They also enjoy uplifting quotes, love notes, and cute text messages. You can make this person’s day by complimenting them or pointing out what they do well.

Quality Time

This is fulfilled when a person gives someone else their undivided attention. This means putting down the cell phone, turning off the TV or computer, then making eye contact and actively listening. People with this love language are looking for quality over quantity. They feel loved if you are present and focused on them.

Physical Touch

Aside from sex, those who have physical touch as their primary love language feel loved when their partner shows physical affection in some way, like holding their hand, touching their arm, or giving them a massage at the end of the day. They want to be close to their partners physically.

Acts of Service

These people feel loved and appreciated when people do nice things for them. Whether it’s helping with the dishes, getting the mail, or making the bed, these little acts of service go straight to the person’s heart. They love when people do little things for them and often reciprocate these things for others.

Receiving Gifts

To a person whose love language is receiving gifts, gift-giving is symbolic of love and affection in their mind. They treasure not only the gift itself but also the time and effort the gift giver put into it. What’s more, they do not necessarily expect large or expensive gifts, the love language receiving gifts is more what is behind the gift that appeals to them.

My personal love language is receiving gifts. But, it is not as narcissistic as it sounds. When I am gifted something, it fulfills me because I believe that the person giving me the gift has put time and thought into what the item may be. It could be as simple as a homemade macaroni necklace (the homemade gifts are actually my favorite) to as extravagant as diamonds. Still, the feeling I get when gifted something, no matter what the gift, is the same, loved feeling. 

The opposite of my love language is also true; I LOVE giving gifts. It makes me so happy to show people I care about how special they are to me. I put a ton of thought into gifts that I give and hope that it pleases the people who are receiving them.

My love language may not vibe with everyone, and that’s ok! Which language describes you best? Let me know in the comments! 

Previous articleHair Salons for Kids in Fairfield County
Next articleClean-Shaming
Melissa was born and raised in Fairfield County. She currently lives in Stamford with her husband, their daughter (born in 2013), and their boy/girl twins (born in 2018). She works for a pediatric group in Fairfield as a mental health therapist, a job she truly loves and is thankful for the children she sees day to day that keep her hip, cool, and in the know of all things adolescent. She spends most of her free time going on dates with her handsome hubby, play time with the kiddos, snuggling her sweet puppy, and spending way too much money at Target.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here